Epithalon (Epitalon, AEDG tetrapeptide)
Epithalon: What The Studies Actually Say
It is sold as the telomere peptide. Every telomere result comes from cells in a dish, the human studies are few and tiny, and the famous 'fewer deaths' numbers are about a different product. Here is what the research actually found.
Updated 22 September 2026
Before you read this
This page explains what published studies found. That is all it is. It is not medical advice, and it is not instructions for using anything. Nothing here is meant to find, treat, cure or stop any illness. The compounds discussed on this site, retatrutide included, are not approved by the FDA for use in people. Research compounds are sold for laboratory use only — not for use in humans or animals. A study tells you what happened to the people in it. It does not tell you what would happen to you. What you do with what you read here is your responsibility, so talk to a doctor first. This page is published by Ascend Vials, which sells research compounds.
Read the full guide
Confirm you have read the notice above and enter an email address. We will send you a link back to this guide, and sometimes an email when we publish a new one. You can unsubscribe any time.
You have probably heard that epithalon lengthens telomeres and helps people live longer. Neither has been shown in a person.
Here is what the research actually found. Every claim has a link. Read them yourself.
The 30-second version
- Epithalon is four amino acids joined together, made by an ageing institute in St. Petersburg, Russia.
- The human evidence is thin. The only human study with a fake-spray group had 40 women and ran 20 days. It measured a melatonin marker in urine. It never measured sleep.
- Every telomere result comes from cells in a dish. No study has measured telomeres in a person who took it.
- The famous "fewer deaths" numbers come from Epithalamin, a cattle-gland extract. That is a different product.
- FDA found no human safety studies, and warned that the telomere effect it is sold for could also be a route to cancer.
- It is not an approved medicine anywhere we could find. A July 2026 FDA advisory vote is not an approval, and it is not final.
- Nothing sold online has been shown to match what the studies used. No study has checked.
What it is
Epithalon, also spelled epitalon, is a lab-made peptide four amino acids long: alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid and glycine. Scientists call it AEDG. Vladimir Khavinson's group in St. Petersburg modelled it on the amino acids found in Epithalamin, a crude extract of cattle pineal glands. FDA briefing, 2026
Keep those two names apart. Epithalon is the small lab-made peptide. Epithalamin is the gland extract. FDA treats them as different substances. FDA briefing, 2026
It is sold online as vials, capsules and a mouth spray, and wellness clinics market it as an anti-ageing "fountain of youth". FDA briefing, 2026
The human studies are few and small
We found three reports of epithalon in people.
| People | How long | Group that got nothing? | Epithalon on its own? | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Women with low melatonin, 2020 | 40 | 20 days | Yes — a salt-water spray | Yes |
| Inherited eye disease, 2002 | 162, split not stated | 10 days of injections | No — compared with the usual drugs of the time | Yes |
| Older people's melatonin, 2007 | Not stated | Not stated | Not described | No — reported with Epithalamin |
Read the whole table. Not one of these studies measured sleep, telomeres or lifespan.
There are too few comparable human numbers for an honest chart, so there is none.
The women. Forty women aged 40 to 50, mostly night-shift workers, started with low levels of a melatonin marker in their urine. Half got an under-the-tongue epithalon spray for 20 days, half a salt-water spray. On epithalon the marker rose 1.7-fold. On salt water it did not change. Adv Gerontol, 2020 · FDA briefing, 2026
The authors also report that 83% improved in mental and physical condition, against 25% on salt water, without saying how they measured it. FDA lists what is missing: sleep was never measured, no safety data were reported, blinding was not described, and it was not a study of people with insomnia. FDA briefing, 2026
The eye study. The developers' own institute studied 162 people with retinitis pigmentosa, an inherited disease that slowly destroys the retina. Some got 10 days of epithalon injections next to the eyeball, the rest the usual drugs of the time. The summary reports a "positive clinical effect in 90% of the cases". Neuro Endocrinol Lett, 2002 A 2025 review adds that sharpness of vision improved by 0.15 to 0.20 on average, and that no treated patient reported side effects. Int J Mol Sci, 2025
We could not read the full paper. Neither source describes random assignment or blinding. FDA's rare-disease status for this use, granted in 2010, was withdrawn in 2016. FDA briefing, 2026
Older people. A 2007 paper, in Russian only, says Epithalamin and epithalon raised night-time melatonin in older people. Its summary gives no number of people and no length of treatment. Adv Gerontol, 2007
The "fewer deaths" numbers are about a different product
You may have seen that epithalon cut deaths by 28%. That figure is not about epithalon.
It comes from Epithalamin, the cattle-gland extract. In a 12-year study, 70 older heart patients got Epithalamin or salt-water shots for 3 years. By year 12, 28% fewer had died in the Epithalamin group. Bull Exp Biol Med, 2006 A second report on 266 older people found death rates 1.6 to 1.8 times lower with Epithalamin than in a control group, over 6 to 8 years. It does not describe random assignment or blinding. Neuro Endocrinol Lett, 2003
Neither result has been confirmed by an independent trial. ADDF report And neither study tested epithalon. A result for the extract is not a result for the peptide.
The telomere story comes from cells in a dish
Telomeres are the protective caps on the ends of chromosomes. Telomerase is the enzyme that rebuilds them. This is what epithalon is famous for, and every result comes from cells grown in a lab. FDA briefing, 2026
The developers' cells. In human fetal lung cells, epithalon switched on telomerase and lengthened telomeres. Bull Exp Biol Med, 2003 In a follow-up, untreated cells stopped dividing at passage 34, a lab count of how many times cells are split. Treated cells reached passage 44 and kept dividing. Bull Exp Biol Med, 2004
The independent study. In 2025 a group at Brunel University London, outside the developers' network, tested four kinds of human cells. Biogerontology, 2025
| Cells | How long | Telomeres | What drove it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Normal connective-tissue cells | 3 weeks | Longer | Telomerase activity up 4-fold |
| Normal breast cells | 3 weeks | Longer | Telomerase activity up 26-fold |
| Breast cancer cells (21NT) | 4 days | 2.4 → 4 kb | ALT, a backup route cancers use, up 10-fold |
| Breast cancer cells (BT474) | 4 days | Up to 8 kb | ALT up 3-fold |
In the cancer cells, telomerase activity did not rise significantly. The telomeres grew through ALT instead. The authors name the main limit themselves: these were flat cell cultures in a lab. Three figures were later replaced because the wrong versions had been printed. Biogerontology, 2025 · Correction
Donated blood cells. White blood cells from 11 men were soaked in the peptide in a dish. The men never took it. Telomere length changed significantly in 7: up in 5, down in 2. Bull Exp Biol Med, 2019
So the honest line is this: epithalon has switched on telomerase in dishes, including in one independent lab. Nobody has shown it does that inside a human body.
Animals: longer lives in some studies, not in others
Every mouse lifespan and tumor study here used only females and one fixed amount. FDA briefing, 2026
| Average lifespan | Maximum lifespan | Tumors | |
|---|---|---|---|
| CBA mice, 2001 (50 per group) | +5.3% | 10 months longer | 10 of 50 → 2 of 50 mice |
| SHR mice, 2003 (54 per group) | No change | +12.3% | No change overall; leukemia 6 → 1 of 50 |
| Breast-cancer-prone mice, 2002 | +13.5% | +13.9% | Fewer and smaller breast tumors |
| Rats, normal day/night light, 2007 | No change | — | Not reduced |
Sources: CBA mice · SHR mice · breast-cancer-prone mice · their tumors · rats
One warning: the summary of the breast-cancer-prone lifespan paper lists a far bigger, more frequent dose than the same group's other papers on these mice. Both cannot be right. Bull Exp Biol Med, 2002
The melatonin link is shaky
FDA says nobody knows how epithalon controls melatonin in a living body. FDA briefing, 2026
In old female monkeys, 10 days of injections raised evening melatonin more than 4-fold. Young monkeys did not change. Sleep was never measured. Bull Exp Biol Med, 2001 But rat pineal glands bathed directly in it released no extra melatonin. FDA says it may not work on the gland directly. J Endocrinol Invest, 2003 · FDA briefing, 2026
The effect it is sold for is FDA's cancer worry
FDA's 2026 review found no clinical studies of epithalon's safety in humans and no data on how the body absorbs or clears it. In its words, there are "no clinical data to support the safety" of it. FDA briefing, 2026
It found no animal studies of poisoning, repeated doses, pregnancy or two-year cancer risk either. FDA briefing, 2026
The cancer question. FDA's reviewers wrote that lifelong exposure could "enable cells to evade senescence and become cancerous". In plain words: cells that should retire keep dividing. The mouse studies found fewer tumors, but FDA says their on-and-off doses added up to far less than a year, too short to catch cancer reliably. FDA briefing, 2026 And in the independent 2025 study, it lengthened telomeres in breast cancer cells through ALT, a route cancers use. Biogerontology, 2025
Immune reactions. FDA warns that injected peptides can clump together and carry impurities, which can set off the immune system. It found no study of this for epithalon. FDA briefing, 2026
No reports is not the same as safe. FDA's databases held no reports of harm up to December 2025. But reporting is voluntary, and compounding pharmacies generally do not report. FDA briefing, 2026
Who did the research
FDA notes that Khavinson's group ran and published most of the studies. FDA briefing, 2026 A report from the Alzheimer's Drug Discovery Foundation found that none of the studies it reviewed had been confirmed independently, and at least half of about 110 articles exist only in Russian. It was written before the 2025 UK cell study. ADDF report
None of that makes the results wrong. It means almost nobody outside the group has checked them.
Is it approved?
Epithalon is not approved as a medicine anywhere we could find.
- United States: not FDA-approved, and not an ingredient of any approved drug. FDA briefing, 2026
- Compounding: FDA keeps a list of raw ingredients pharmacies may use to mix custom medicines. Epithalon is not on it. FDA once flagged it as a possible safety risk. FDA · FDA list, May 2026
- The July 2026 vote: FDA's reviewers said the criteria "weigh against" adding it for insomnia. FDA briefing, 2026 An FDA advisory committee then voted 7 to 4, with 1 abstention, to recommend adding it anyway. McDermott Will & Schulte · Holland & Knight The vote is not binding, and we found no final FDA rule as of 22 September 2026.
- Europe, UK, Canada, Australia: FDA found no approved epithalon products. FDA briefing, 2026
- Russia: the extract Epithalamin is approved there. We could not verify any registration for epithalon itself. ADDF report
- Trials: ClinicalTrials.gov lists zero registered studies under any of its names. ClinicalTrials.gov
What is still unknown
- Whether it switches on telomerase or lengthens telomeres inside a person.
- Whether it changes lifespan or any health outcome in humans.
- Whether it affects sleep. No study has looked at people with insomnia.
- How much of any dose reaches the blood or the brain.
- Long-term cancer risk, effects on pregnancy, and effects in males.
- Whether the amounts clinics advertise are safe. They have never been tested in a published study.
What is in the bottle is not what was studied
One more thing.
Almost every result on this page came from the developers' own group, testing their own peptide.
No study has ever shown that a product sold online as "epithalon" is the same thing. Not the same purity. Not the same strength. Not even proof it is the same molecule. FDA found the same name used for two different forms, and the lab certificates it was sent mixed the two up. FDA briefing, 2026 Belgian health officials have found epithalon in illegal drug preparations. Source
So take every number on this page for what it is. It describes what happened in those studies. It describes nothing else.
How to check a number yourself
You are going to see more claims about epithalon. In a reel. In a comment. On somebody's store page.
Here is how to tell a real one from a marketing one. Five questions. About ten seconds each.
1. Is there a link to a study?
A real number comes from a paper you can open. No link means it is a claim, not a result. Search "epitalon" and "epithalon" on pubmed.gov yourself.
2. Was it people, animals or a dish?
Every telomere number here comes from a dish. Every lifespan number for epithalon comes from animals. A dish tells you what a cell did, not what a person will feel.
3. Was it epithalon, or Epithalamin?
The names are one syllable apart. The human death-rate numbers are for the extract.
4. Did they measure the thing being promised?
The one human study with a fake-spray group measured a urine marker, not sleep. No study measured telomeres in a person who took it.
5. Who ran it?
Here, nearly always the same Russian group. The one independent telomere study used cells.
Now run those five on this page
Every number above links to its paper. You were told which results come from dishes, which from animals, and which from a different product. The sleep and telomere claims have no human numbers, because no human study measured them.
That is the whole difference: a number you can check, and a number you are asked to believe.
This page has a date on it, near the top. If a proper human trial of epithalon is ever published, this page changes.
Read the studies yourself
- FDA briefing, 2026 — safety, status, and the women's and monkey studies
- ADDF report — who did the research
- Women's melatonin study, Adv Gerontol 2020
- Eye study, 2002 · 2025 review with its details
- Older people's melatonin, 2007
- Epithalamin, not epithalon: 2006 · 2003
- Independent telomere study, 2025 — free to read · correction
- Developers' telomere studies: 2003 · 2004 · 2019
- Mice: CBA · SHR · breast-cancer-prone · their tumors
- Rats: lighting · pineal glands
- Old monkeys, 2001
- Illegal preparations in Belgium
- FDA compounding pages: safety-risk list · categories, May 2026
- The vote: McDermott Will & Schulte · Holland & Knight
- ClinicalTrials.gov search
Anything above about amounts describes what a study gave to animals, cells or enrolled people. This is not advice, a plan, or instructions. Epithalon is not an approved medicine. Research compounds are not for human or animal use.